Non-graduates getting it right first time

24 05 2013

After completing the course Ben Leo started his work experience at the Argus and was snapped up by them at once. Here is his story.

“The cost of going to University after my A-levels really put me off as I didn’t fancy studying hard just to get into debt. Instead I enrolled for the fast-track course at Journalist Works and learnt everything I needed to know in an intensive but high-calibre 14-week course.

“I was a little apprehensive before starting the course as I questioned whether I would be able to keep up with my fellow university-educated students. I soon discovered it didn’t really matter if I had been to university or not as the employers I spoke to all valued an NCTJ education more than a degree.

“After the course, I put the skills I’d acquired at Journalist Works to the test during a work experience stint at The Argus.

“Soon after the placement, the News Editor called me up, told me he’d liked my work and offered me a job”. I remember he joked: “They taught you well upstairs.”

I gladly accepted.”        

“Studying for the NCTJ at Journalist Works not only saved me thousands of pounds in tuition fees, but also a hard slog at university too, and it got me my cracking job”

And Ben is not the only one bagging himself a great job after completing his qualification. His course-mates Rebecca Creed and Caroline Wilson, went on to find work as a junior reporters. Neil Hawkins joined the Echo in Southend. Puja Tiwari became the editor at a luxury lifestyle and fashion magazine named Sabaya,and Emily Noszkay joined www.positiveluxury.com as their new Content and Community Manager.

 

 

Actions

Information




