‘I love media law’ and other stories – starting out at Journalist Works

18 09 2012

During their first week at Brighton Journalist Works students hit the ground running.

As well as attending classes, students are finding stories for their community reporter patches, met some of Brighton’s hacks and hackers and taken part in a pop up digital newsroom.

What better way to end your second day at Brighton Journalist Works than in the pub?

It was a temptation few could resist as the majority of the new NCTJ fast-track students joined journalists and developers at The Eagle for the September Hacks/Hackers Brighton meeting.

Billed as part of the Brighton Digital Festival, speakers Aral Balkan and Joanna Geary talked about online communities from different perspectives.

Tom Harper

I then had my first more general journalism experience as I went to the hacks/hackers meet-up at The Eagle pub in Brighton.

Some elements of the talks we were given went over my head, but I found a lot of the discussion very interesting and it undoubtedly gave me a greater understanding of aspects of journalism which I had not really considered before my course had started.

Kristy Barber

After being let out half hour early, we headed down to the Hacks and Hackers talk in town. There we heard a talk from a pretty enthusiastic american guy called Aral Balkan.

He did a pretty awesome talk about Twitter, Facebook and a new app called App.net which is basically the same as Twitter and Facebook however you pay £2.50 a month to keep your stuff private from the company ‘It’s your real-time feed, a home for meaningful conversation, where you control your data’. Pretty nifty stuff!

Then there was another talk from Joanna Geary, Guardians Digital Development Editor about the importance of community within the news.

It was a pretty cool talk and she seemed like a lovely lady however I don’t think my knowledge is that good yet to understand what she was talking about, I did catch on to an argument that was brewing between a few people in the crowd with was quite entertaining though.

Amy Roberts

Aral put on a very interesting presentation – all I’ll say is “is your privacy worth more than a pint a month?” if the answer is yes, get following Aral on Twitter!

Joanna is a very interesting person but to tell you the truth, I had no idea what she was talking about, it was a little too advanced for my knowledge but everyone else was enjoying and following it.

There were debates flying from every angle of the room, which was quite amusing to say the least. I also recommend following Joanna on Twitter!

Expert liveblogger Adam Tinworth wrote two pieces within ten minutes of the end of each talk: Aral on identity and privacy and Joanne Geary: So all that online community stuff is sorted now…

Hacks/Hackers Brighton organised a pop up newsroom and skill sharing session at The Dome as part of the Mini Maker Faire at the Digital Festival.

Alastair Reid, Jamie Walker and Chris Cox went along to see what they could find.

Jamie ventured outside the faire to the Brighton Food Festival in the streets outside The Dome and wrote how Brighton was over run with events for the Hacks/Hackers blog

Alastair experimented with digital storytelling and wrote his piece about Robo-Xylo and Scalexercise, uploaded video and pictures to the blog via apps on his smartphone.

Samantha Graham found her first story:

As part of our reporting course, we have to complete a portfolio of 10 different articles. Some of these can be community stories from our ‘patch’ (we’ve all been allocated an area of Brighton to cover for the Argus newspaper). My patch is Hove Park & Goldstone Valley, Aldrington, Hangleton & Knoll and Portslade.

So I took a trip to my patch and just drove around to get to know the area. I checked notice boards, churches, communtiy centres – and I actually stumbled across Hangleton Park Community Festival! I had a chat with the Friends of Hangleton Park and the chairman/organiser, Dave. My first story!

So did Kristy Barber:

Thanks to a link I saw my mum post on Facebook today, I’ve been able to get in contact with the news desk downstairs about a big event in Worthing this weekend that they haven’t covered yet. They asked me to write something about it by 6pm today to go with a feature in tomorrow’s paper, so fingers crossed I’ll see my name in black and white tomorrow morning.

Gareth Davis was the first to have a story published in Brighton’s daily newspaper, The Argus.

He discovered a woman’s homage to Team GB’s medallists in Hangleton.

Shorthand

Kristy was the first to write about her struggle with the squiggles:

Strangely enough, I’m starting to get the hang of it. It feels weird though because 2 days ago it all looked like a load of gibberish to me but now I can actually write sentences in the stuff! I’m so cool I even send a little message to my boyfriend in it.

Shorthand

And law

Amy Roberts found a new love for media law:

I love it! It’s so interesting! I really enjoyed learning about the laws surrounding writing stories. A good website to check out is pcc.org.uk it tells you all of the complaints put in against newspapers and magazines!

Journalism training is tough, but there was a chance for students to enjoy themselves at the end of the week.

They were bowled over after a rigorous week.

Bowling

Actions

Information




